The Seven Wonders of the globe (or the Seven Wonders of the traditional World) could be a wide well-known list of seven outstanding constructions of antiquity.

It was based on guide-books popular among Hellenic sightseers and includes only works located around the Mediterranean rim.

Later lists embody those for the medieval world and therefore the contemporary world.


The original Seven Wonders of the globe consists of: the good Pyramid of El Giza (the most ancient also because the solely living structure), the Hanging Gardens of city, the
Temple of Greek deity at metropolis, the sculpture of Zeus at Olympia, the Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes, and the Lighthouse of Alexandria.

The notion of “Seven Wonders” can be traced to a Hellenistic recognition of trans-cultural human achievement that found expression throughout the Hellenistic world. check book…

For thousands of years, the Seven Wonders of the World have inspired humankind as representative works symbolic of the great civilizations of antiquity.
In terms of innovative style, elaborate construction, technological mastery, and symbolic meaning, the Seven Wonders have not only showcased the high points of diverse civilizations, but tied humankind together
in the common pursuit of intellectual excellence and style.
Seven Wonders of the Ancient World
The historian Herodotus and the scholar Callimachus of Cyrene (c. 305 – 240 B.C.E.) made early lists of “seven wonders,” but these writings have not survived, except as references.

The earliest existing version of an inventory of seven wonders was compiled by Antipater of Saida, United Nations agency represented the structures in a very literary work around one hundred forty B.C.E.:
I have set eyes on the wall of lofty Babylon on that may be a road for chariots, and also the sculpture of Zeus by the Alpheus, and also the hanging gardens, and
the Colossus of the Sun, and the huge labor of the high pyramids, and the vast tomb of Mausolus; but when I saw the house of Artemis that mounted to
the clouds, those different marvels lost their brightness, and I said, “Lo, except Mount Olympus, the Sun ne’erlooked on cypher thus grand” (Greek compendium IX.58).

A later list, under various titles such as De septem orbis spactaculis and traditionally, though incorrectly, attributed to the engineer Philo of Byzantium, may date as late as the fifth century C.E., although the author writes as if the Colossus of Rhodes, destroyed by an earthquake in 224 B.C.E., were still standing.
The basic characteristics of each of the Seven Wonders are given in the table below:
Wonder Date of construction Builder Notable features Date of destruction Cause of destruction
Great Pyramid of Giza 2650 – 2500 B.C.E. Egyptians Built as the tomb of Fourth dynasty Egyptian pharaoh Khufu. Still standing –
Hanging Gardens of Babylon 600 B.C.E. Babylonians Herodotus claimed the outer walls were 56 miles in length, 80 feet thick and 320 feet high (although some archaeological findings suggest otherwise). After first century B.C.E. Earthquake
Temple of Artemis at Ephesus 550 B.C.E. Lydians, Persians, Greeks Dedicated to the Greek goddess Artemis, the temple was begun by Croesus of Lydia and took 120 years to build. It was destroyed by arson in 356 B.C.E., rebuilt and destroyed during a raid by the Goths in 262, rebuilt again and finally demolished by a mob led by St. John Chrysostom.[1] 356 B.C.E. and 401 C.E. Arson and later demolition
Statue of Zeus at Olympia 435 B.C.E. Greeks Occupied the whole width of the aisle of the temple that was built to house it, and was 40 feet tall. fifth and sixth centuries C.E. Fire
Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus 351 B.C.E. Persians, Greeks Stood approximately 135 feet tall with each of the four sides adorned with sculptural reliefs. Origin of the word mausoleum. by 1494 C.E. Earthquake
Colossus of Rhodes 292 – 280 B.C.E. Hellenistic Greece A giant statue of the Greek god Helios roughly the same size as today’s Statue of Liberty in New York. 224 B.C.E. Earthquake
Lighthouse of Alexandria Third century B.C.E. Hellenistic Egypt Between 383 feet to 440 feet tall it was among the tallest man-made structures on Earth for many centuries. 1303 – 1480 C.E. Earthquake

Later lists
The Colosseum

Many lists of “wonders of the world” area unit aforementioned to possess existed throughout the center Ages, though it’s unlikely that these lists originated at that point.
These lists glide by names like “Wonders of the center Ages” (implying no specific limitation to seven), “Seven Wonders of the center Ages,” “Medieval Mind,” and “Architectural Wonders
of the center Ages.” several of the structures on these lists were designed a lot of before the Medieval Ages, however were standard.
The lists area unit additional properly seen as a seamless sort or genre within the Seven Wonders tradition than a selected list.

The following is a typical representative of such lists:
Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa
Great Wall of China
Porcelain Tower of Nanjing
Hagia Sophia
Leaning Tower of PisaStonehenge

Leave a comment


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here